County of Monmouth
Human Resources - Employee Benefits

Retirement Plan Information

Retirement plan benefits for County employees are provided through the New Jersey Division of Pensions and Benefits.  Membership in the retirement system is generally required as a condition of employment for most employees of the county. You are required to enroll if:  you are employed on a regular basis in a position and you are not required to be a member of any other State or local government retirement system on the basis of the same position. The funds used to pay benefits come from three sources: employer contributions, employee contributions, and investment income from those contributions. For additional details, visit

  • Public Employees Retirement System (PERS):

The Public Employees' Retirement System (PERS) is a defined benefit pension fund, open to most state, county, municipal, authority, and school board employees and elected officials who are not required to become members of any other NJ state retirement system (i.e., Defined Contribution Retirement Program, Teachers' Pension and Annuity Fund, Police and Firemen's Retirement System, State Police Retirement System, Judicial Retirement System, or Alternate Benefit Program). Membership in the PERS for employees who meet eligibility requirements is mandatory in most cases.

  • Police & Fire Retirement System (PFRS):

The Police and Firemen's Retirement System (PFRS) is a defined benefit pension fund. Certain State and county law enforcement job titles are also covered by the PFRS. However, if an employee in a county or State police or fire title does not meet PFRS eligibility requirements, PERS membership is required. 

  • Defined Contribution Retirement Program (DCRP):  

Established under the provisions of Chapter 92, P.L. 2007 and Chapter 103, P.L. 2007 — provides eligible members with a tax-sheltered, defined contribution retirement benefit, along with life insurance and disability coverage.  Individuals eligible for membership in the DCRP include:

  1. State or Local Officials who are elected or appointed on or after July 1, 2007;
  2. Employees enrolled in the PERS or TPAF on or after July 1, 2007, who earn salary in excess of established “maximum compensation” limits.
  3. Effective November 2, 2008; Employees with base salary between $5,000 and current minimum PERS Tier 3 salary.
  4. Effective May 21, 2010; Employees who do not work the minimum required hours but who earn base salary of at least $5,000.

Empower makes DCRP information, including information about distribution options, available on its New Jersey Defined Contribution Program Website here.