County of Monmouth

For Immediate Release
January 5, 2024

Arnone, Licitra elected to leadership roles
as Commissioners reorganize for 2024

FREEHOLD, NJ – Commissioner Thomas A. Arnone was elected to serve as Director of the Monmouth County Board of County Commissioners and Commissioner Ross F. Licitra was elected to serve as Deputy Director when the Board held its 2024 reorganization meeting on Jan. 4 at Biotechnology High School in Freehold Township.

“The five of us will work together to provide the best quality of life for each of our 53 municipalities, along with the governing bodies of those towns,” said Commissioner Director Arnone. “We want to continue to make Monmouth County the best place to live, work and raise a family. In 2024, we will continue to work as a team. We will face our challenges and we will continue to explore our opportunities.”

Prior to the selection of the Board’s leaders, Commissioner Licitra was sworn in by the Honorable Marc C. Lemieux to begin serving his second three-year term as a Monmouth County Commissioner and Commissioner Erik Anderson was sworn in by the Honorable Mara Zazzali-Hogan to begin serving his first three-year term as a Monmouth County Commissioner.

“Being elected to public office and having the trust bestowed upon me by the people of Monmouth County has truly been the biggest honor of my life, other than being a father to my two beautiful children,” said Commissioner Deputy Director Licitra. “The recipe for success in Monmouth County will continue to be honesty, integrity and, most of all, common sense.”

“I am truly honored and privileged to have been sworn in to represent the people of Monmouth County,” said Commissioner Anderson. “As 2024 starts, I look forward to joining this Board to continue its great work and to continuing our partnership with the County’s 53 municipalities.”

Commissioners Arnone, Licitra and Anderson are joined on the Board by Commissioner Susan M. Kiley and Commissioner Nick DiRocco.

“We continue to reach out to our residents who are in need of help. Our core mission is assisting our residents and making sure their lives are better,” said Commissioner Kiley. “We will continue to anticipate and prepare for a changing future, and we will plan accordingly. We are committed to our residents.”

“We have done everything we can do to deliver high-quality services in a cost-effective way,” said Commissioner DiRocco. “We have continued to invest in our transportation infrastructure, delivery of social services, park system, educational institutions and County facilities. We will continue to implement sound fiscal practices.”

During the reorganization meeting, the Commissioners made citizen member appointments to various County boards and commissions: 

  • Monmouth ACTS Advisory Council, three-year term: Mary Pat Angelini, Joseph Annecharico, Pat Bohse, Peter-Donnell Boynton, Sara Burrill, Anthony Comerford, Wendy Depedro, Anna Diaz-White, Mary Ditri, Pastor Pat Medley, Ginger Mulligan, Kim Perrelli, Rev. Robert Pierce, Rev. Terrance Porter, Dr. Lester Richens, Marlene Ryan, Lynn Seaward, Marta Silverberg, Rev. Ronald Sparks, Arlene Spiegle, Yolanda Taylor, Anita Voogt and Brendan Ward.
  • Ex-Officio Members to the Monmouth ACTS Advisory Board, three-year term: Ellen Cohen, Judith Green and Nelson Troche.
  • Advisory Council to the Office of Aging, three-year term: Kenneth Brenzel, Arthur Maloney, Susan Mazzeo, Jacquelyn Canada and Gerard Gavin.
  • Monmouth County Agriculture Development Board, regular members, three-year term: Martin Bullock and Arthur Giambrone; alternate members, one-year term: Peter Volpe and Pete Van Mater.
  • Brookdale Community College Search Committee, three-year term: Matthew McDermott.
  • Monmouth County Construction Board of Appeals, four-year term: Richard Hogan and Edward Reed Jr.
  • Environmental Council, three-year term: Dan Beckalman and Peter Volpe.
  • Fair Housing Board, five-year term: Joseph Barris, Eileen Cahill and Laura Kirby.
  • Assistant Fire Marshals, three-year term: Richard Hogan and Albert Scott III.
  • Historical Commission, three-year term: Glen Cashion, Joseph Grabas and Barbara Harrigan.
  • Improvement Authority, five-year term: Robert Nicastro.
  • Library Commission, five-year term: Brian Boms and Barbara McMorrow.
  • Planning Board, three-year term: Marcy McMullen and James Schatzle.
  • Board of Recreation Commissioners, five-year term: Thomas Adcock.
  • Youth Services Commission, three-year term: Kathy Collins, Ivan Kaplan and Dr. Lester Richens.

For more information about Monmouth County, go to

FREEHOLD, NJ—Commissioner Director Thomas A. Arnone spoke at the Organization Meeting after he was re-elected Commissioner Director for 2024.
FREEHOLD, NJ – Commissioner Deputy Director Ross F. Licitra (right) accepts his certificate of election from Monmouth County Clerk Christine Giordano Hanlon (left) at the Organization Meeting held on Jan. 4, 2024.
FREEHOLD, NJ – Commissioner Erik Anderson (right) accepts his certificate of election from Monmouth County Clerk Christine Giordano Hanlon (left) at the Organization Meeting held on Jan. 4, 2024.

#      #     #