County of Monmouth


November 3, 2012

Corrected 11/3/12 3:30 p.m.

Monmouth County Sheriff’s Office

Contact: Cynthia Scott PIO, 732-577-6613



County curfew adjusted

in coastal Monmouth County towns
Beginning Nov. 4 coastal towns under 6 p.m. to 6 a.m. restrictions


FREEHOLD, NJ – Monmouth County officials have adjusted the curfew in most of the county’s coastal communities to be 6 p.m. to 6 a.m. beginning Nov. 4.

“This curfew takes into account tonight’s daylight savings time,” said Sheriff Shaun Golden. “We are adjusting this curfew to assist our law enforcement operations and ensure the safety of our residents.”


The Sheriff explains that the curfew goes into effect on Sunday, Nov. 4 for the coastal municipalities of Aberdeen, Allenhurst, Atlantic Highlands, Avon-By-The-Sea, Belmar, Bradley Beach, Brielle, Deal, Interlaken, Hazlet, Highlands, Keansburg, Keyport, Lake Como, Loch Arbour, Long Branch, Manasquan, Matawan, Middletown east of Route 36, Monmouth Beach, Neptune Township, Ocean Grove, Sea Bright, Sea Girt, Spring Lake and Union Beach.


The curfew was lifted for all of Asbury Park earlier today.


The Sheriff reminds residents that although the county-wide ban has been lifted in half of the towns, local municipal curfews may continue to remain in effect. The Sheriff advises residents to contact their local police non-emergency phone number for additional information.


In towns where the county-wide curfew remains in effect, only essential personnel may be outside and on the roads from 6 p.m. to 6 a.m. This includes emergency service personnel and those who are responsible for critical services within the county.


#  #  #